Song Analysis “Speak Now” Taylor Swift

I am not the kind of girl
Who should be rudely barging in on a white veil occasion
But you are not the kind of boy
Who should be marrying the wrong girl

I sneak in and see your friends
And her snotty little family all dressed in pastel
And she is yelling at a bridesmaid
Somewhere back inside a room
Wearing a gown shaped like a pastry

This is surely not what you thought it would be
I lose myself in a daydream
Where I stand and say

Don’t say yes, run away now
I’ll meet you when you’re out of the church at the back door
Don’t wait, or say a single vow
You need to hear me out
And they said speak now

Fond gestures are exchanged
And the organ starts to play
A song that sounds like a death march
And I am hiding in the curtains
It seems I was uninvited by your lovely bride to be

She floats down the aisle like a pageant queen
But I know you wish it was me,
You wish it was me
Don’t you?

Don’t say yes, run away now
I’ll meet you when you’re out of the church at the back door
Don’t wait, or say a single vow
You need to hear me out
And they said speak now

Don’t say yes, run away now
I’ll meet you when you’re out of the church at the back door
Don’t wait, or say a single vow
Your time is running out
And they said speak now

I hear the preacher say speak now or forever hold your peace
There’s the silence, there’s my last chance
I stand up with shaky hands, all eyes on me
Horrified looks from everyone in the room
But I’m only looking at you

I’m not the kind of girl
Who should be rudely barging in on a white veil occasion
But you are not the kind of boy
Who should be marrying the wrong girl

So don’t say yes, run away now
I’ll meet you when you’re out of the church at the back door
Don’t wait, or say a single vow
You need to hear me out
And they said speak now

And you’ll say let’s run away now
I’ll meet you when I’m out of my tux at the ck door
Baby, I didn’t say my vows
So glad you were around
When they said speak now

[We’ve seen versions of this scene in umpteen movies – a young attractive couple is about to get married. The minister asks if there is anyone who objects to the wedding, he or she should “speak now or forever hold their peace.” Usually, the woman is about to marry the wrong guy and Mr. Right races to the chapel to stop her. Here Taylor Swift has reversed the roles – it’s the guy who is about to make a big mistake and she’s in civvies trying to stop him.

I love the phrase “white-veil occasion.” If you look carefully, you’ll see that the word “wedding” never appears in the song. But it doesn’t need to be. The WASP wedding ceremony is so ingrained in us that we can recognize it from just a few elements that are mentioned here. These elements include the white veil, the gown, the church, the minister, the organ, and the bridesmaid. Also the title “speak now” comes from the aforementioned line in the wedding service.

It’s funny to me that the speaker says that the groom-to-be is “not the kind of boy/ Who should be marrying the wrong girl.” As opposed to the kind of guy who SHOULD marry the wrong girl? Maybe she’s thinking of illegal immigrants who marry people they don’t love just to stay in the country. Or a guy who has a sham marriage to advance his career ala “Ned and Stacey.”

Swift shows off her sense of humor in these lyrics. In several ways, she mocks the intended bride. She says she wears a gown shaped like a pastry. She walks down the aisle like a pageant queen, with pride and pomp, not like a bashful, humble girl. She mocks the ceremony saying the music sounds like a death march. She even mocks herself, painting herself as a wallflower, hiding in the curtains.

Strategically, Swift paints the intended bride as a dragon lady. She’s arrogant, spoiled, and rude. I say this is strategic because she needs to vividly demonstrate that this is the wrong woman. Otherwise, she’s a horrible person for trying to bust the wedding.

Swift does an admirable job of weaving an intricate scene. The minister recites those famous words. Silence follows. Her hands tremble as she rises to speak. Friends and family of the bride and groom stare daggers at her. She keeps her focus like a laser sight on her beloved.

They run off together and he’s eternally grateful to her for preventing him from making a huge mistake. They live happily ever after.]

Read more: http://artists.letssingit.com/taylor-swift-lyrics-speak-now-sxvxnl8#ixzz1a06bnv7M
LetsSingIt – Your favorite Music Community
, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

