Deserve’s Got Nothing To Do With It

At the end of the film, “Unforgiven” (SPOILER ALERT) William Munny (Clint Eastwood) is about to kill Little
Bill (Gene Hackman) and Little Bill says “I don’t deserve this.”

William Munny says, “Deserve’s got nothing to do with it.”

The idea that people get what they deserve in life is largely a misconception. When I consider my own life, I see things that have been so beneficial to me, things so out of proportion with my own actions, that I cannot say I deserved them. I don’t deserve to be Muslim. I don’t deserve to believe in God. I don’t deserve my kind, generous, loving parents.

And on the flip side, there are things that happened to met that I didn’t really deserve.  I don’t want to go into all the details of plans that didn’t work out and dreams that didn’t come true, but I don’t think I deserved them.

I’m not saying that all is randomness and all is chaos. There is justice in the end, when God looks at all He gave you and all you did, and you end up where you should be. But that’s not in this world.

In this world, William Munny is right – “Deserve’s Got Nothing to Do With It.”

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

