Song Analysis “Grenade” – Bruno Mars

Easy come, easy go, that’s just how you live

Oh take, take, take it all, but you never give

Should’ve known you was trouble from the first kiss

Had your eyes wide open

Why were they open?

[A healthy relationship has a balance of give and take from both partners. But Bruno Mars here describes a girl who keeps taking, but doesn’t give anything in return. Now he sees with hindsight that the relationship was troubled from the beginning. He remembers how when they first kissed, she kept her eyes open. Some people might say he’s making a big deal out of nothing. But if you imagine a passionate kiss, usually both people close their eyes. I sense a trust issue lies at the bottom of this. He thinks she kept her eyes open because she never trusted him.]

Gave you all I had and you tossed it in the trash

You tossed it in the trash, you did

To give me all your love is all I ever asked

cause what you don’t understand

[“Gave you all I had and you tossed it in the trash,” captures a kind of relationship. He feels he has given her all his time, his energy, his love. Not only has she not reciprocated, but she has failed to even appreciate any of it. The message goes out not just to this one girl, but to anyone in such a relationship who is taking advantage of his or her partner. The last line of this stanza is incomplete, but will make sense in the next part.]

Is I’d catch a grenade for ya

Throw my hand on the blade for ya (yeah yeah)

I’d jump in front of a train for ya (yeah yeah)

You know I’d do anything for ya (yeah yeah)

Oh-oh I would go through all this pain

Take a bullet straight through my brain

Yes I would die for ya baby, but you won’t do the same..

[He’s talking about all the ways he would sacrifice himseelf for her. Men still have an innate “fight or flight” instinct. When feeling intense emotion, men get an adrenaline rush that prepares them for tough situations. However, nowadays men rarely have to fight or flee from a predator or threat. What ends up happening is that this instinct adds to stress. But even if he never actually has to catch a grenade for anyone, it is the fact that he is willing to do so that shows he is a man of honor.]

No, no, no, no-oh

Black, black, black and blue beat me till I’m numb

Tell the devil I said hey when you get back to where you’re from

Mad woman, bad woman that’s just what you are, yeah

You smile in my face then rip the brakes out my car

[I love the line about the devil. He’s saying she’s a demon and he wishes she would go back to Hell. She’s so twisted that she can pretend to be pleasant even while she is planning to kill him.]

Gave you all I had and you tossed it in the trash

You tossed it in the trash, yes you did

To give me all your love

Is all I ever asked cause what you don’t understand

Is I’d catch a grenade for ya

Throw my hand on the blade for ya (yeah yeah)

I’d jump in front of a train for ya (yeah yeah)

You know I’d do anything for ya (yeah yeah)

Oh-oh I would go through all this pain

Take a bullet straight through my brain

Yes I would die for ya baby, but you won’t do the same..

If my body was on fire

Ooh you would watch me burn down in flames

You said you loved me you’re a liar

Cause you never ever ever did baby..

[He’s telling her that she doesn’t care about him and she never did. Even if a total stranger was on fire, a decent person would try to help that stranger. He’s saying that she wouldn’t even do that for him, a man who is not just a stranger, but in fact, her boyfriend. He now feels that any words of love she ever expressed to him were nothing but lies.]

But darlin’ I’d still catch a grenade for ya

Throw my hand on the blade for ya

I’d jump in front of a train for ya

You know I’d do anything for ya

Oh-oh I would go through all this pain, yeah

Take a bullet straight through my brain

Yes I would die for ya baby, but you won’t do the same..

No you won’t do the same

you wouldn’t do the same  Ooh

you’d never do the same

Noo no no no-oh.

[This song is about love, anger, dishonesty, and betrayal. Many people can relate to it because relationships are often one-sided, with one person giving and forgiving and another person always taking. ]

  1. #1 by Task maker on September 7, 2011 - 5:55 pm

    “No, no, no, no-oh

    Black, black, black and blue beat me till I’m numb

    Tell the devil I said hey when you get back to where you’re from

    Mad woman, bad woman that’s just what you are, yeah

    You smile in my face then rip the brakes out my car

    [I love the line about the devil. He’s saying she’s a demon and he wishes she would go back to Hell. She’s so twisted that she can pretend to be pleasant even while she is planning to kill him.]”
    I love your use of logic in all of your posts but u were a bit off on this part.
    Sure demon blah de blah blah
    Where my comment comes in is where you said “…She’s so twisted that she can pretend to be pleasant even while she is planning to kill him.]”
    If you draw your analysis from the song as well as the music video you’d see where you went wrong.
    Her intent was not to kill him. He was just emphasizing the extent of her deception. He’s refrencing to the fact that later in the video the she was having an affair with another man(duh- but then again these days you can never tell XD.) So he’s saying that she’s smiling to his face but stabbing him in the back.
    I hope you find my comment enlightening,
    Task Maker

Leave a Reply

