Sugar Pile Soliloquy Meets Bad Translator

One of my all-time favorite scenes from the twenty year annals of The Simpsons is this:
Marge: Homer, when are you going to give up this crazy sugar scheme?
Homer: Never, Marge. Never. I can’t live the button-down life like you. I want it all: the terrifying lows, the dizzying highs, the creamy middles. Sure, I might offend a few of the bluenoses with my cocky stride and musky odors – oh, I’ll never be the darling of the so-called “City Fathers” who cluck their tongues, stroke their beards, and talk about “What’s to be done with this Homer Simpson?”

(“Lisa’s Rival, #6.2, 1994).

You can take a piece of this and input it in the Bad Translator, a web-based application that translates back and forth from English into a random foreign language then back into English, over and over again.

Here is the result,

“I: The high, high success rate in the media think. Of course, I also found a strong cover scent – oh, I do not want to see the language of my parents.”

The lesson:      Web-Translators are best used for entertainment purposes only. And when you get e-mails from people who want to buy your stuff but only speak Portuguese.

Check out Bad Translator here:

http://www.conveythis.com/translation.php

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

