Song Analysis – Back to Me – Kathleen Edwards

I got ways to make you sorry,
Start my life with someone else.
I got ways to make you fall,
Tell you all the things that I lied about.
I got ways to make you mad,
Just laughing at the girl sitting on your lap.
I got ways to make you sing my songs,
And ones I ain’t written yet.
[You don’t want to break up with Kathleen Edwards because not only will she write a song about you, but she will make you regret what you did to her. She’ll start by hooking up with someone better than you to make you jealous. Then she’ll tell you that bald spot she thought was cute was really hideous. In fact, a lot of things she said she liked weren’t really up to par. Someday you’ll find yourself tapping your toes to a tune and suddenly realize that it’s one of hers.]

I got lights you’ve never seen,
I got moves I never used,
I got ways to make you come back to me.
[Guys, don’t take away my Man Card, but this reminds me of a bit from a Julia Roberts movie. Hey, I have a sister who loves rom-coms, okay? This is how it goes:

Julianne Potter: It is the duty of the best man to dance with the maid of honor.
Michael O’Neill: Dance? You can’t dance. When did you learn how to dance?
Julianne Potter: I’ve got moves you’ve never seen.

The idea of a woman having a whole arsenal of seductive secrets is something I find incredibly sexy. If you’ve ever loved a woman, you know there are little things she can do like flipping her hair or pouting her lips that make you lose control.]

I got ways to make your strange,
Drug you up and drag you home.
I got ways to track you down,
In all of the places you like to go.
I got ways to make you crazy,
Wear all the things you always wanted me to.
I got ways to make you run,
And my daddy’s coming for you.

[Are you beginning to feel a little pity for this guy who left her? She is totally relentless – using drugs, stalking, and fashion to make her point. And just like with Taylor Swift (see “The Rules of Taylor Swift Songs,” ) when you mess with Kathleen, you mess with her dad. And he’s got a shotgun.]

I got lights you’ve never seen,
I got moves I never used,
I got ways to make you come back to me.

I got ways to make you hear me,
Just by whispering your name.
I got ways to make you think
You’ll never be happy again.
I got ways to make you see
I’m so much better than before.
I got ways to make you swear
You won’t want your old life anymore.

[She is playing so many head games here. The guy’s sitting in a Starbucks, typing on his laptop, minding his own business and suddenly he thinks he hears his name. He looks around and can’t find where the sound is coming from. She’s making him slide into depression, anger, jealousy, and regret. It’s reminiscent of Kubler-Ross’ five stages of grief -http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%C3%BCbler-Ross_model. This song should serve as a warning to guys considering breaking up with their s.o.’s. Don’t do it over something trivial. And if you do break up, expect her to try to get you back using a secret cache of dirty tactics and Jedi mind tricks that will take you to the brink of insanity.]

I got lights you never seen,
I got moves I never used,
I got ways to make you come back to me.
(REPEAT)

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

