Am I a Foodie?

porcini-spaghetti-m

Am I a Foodie?

I’ve been wondering lately if I fit into the category of people known as “foodies.” When I see the word, “foodie” my gut reaction is to define it as a person who enjoys food. But that definition is unsatisfying because then wouldn’t everybody be a foodie? Who doesn’t enjoy any food at all? Of course there are exceptions, anorexics and fast-aholics come to mind.

Does one have to enjoy cooking food to be a foodie? I don’t think it’s a requirement, but it does make the case for one being a foodie more convincing. There are a lot of Food Network stars that I would consider foodies – people like Tyler Florence, Bobby Flay, Giada De Laurentiis, and Rachael Ray. (By the way, I think Rachael Ray is delightful despite what her detractors say about her.) These are people who are passionate about food. I’m not that into it, but I have had some great experiences in the kitchen. One dish I’ve been making since I was a child is spaghetti with meat sauce. My brother and I would often split the work. I would boil the water and cook the noodles. He would add the sauce at the end. Good times.

I wonder what the correlation is between being a foodie and weight. One might think that foodies love food so they tend to be overweight. However, a lot of people who are overweight put on pounds because they don’t care about what they eat and thus consume a lot of junk. Foodies who cook for themselves can use fresh herbs and vegetables to stay trim.

I guess I am a foodie because I care about food and I like to cook. But if that puts me in the company of Giada De Laurentiis and Tyler Florence, I think I can live with that.

I welcome your comments. Are you a foodie? Are you an anti-foodie? What are your favorite meals?

  1. #1 by AM on May 21, 2009 - 1:03 am

    I definitely would be a foodie. Trying new restaurants, talking about food, and taking photos of food would make me one. Though it all seems very strange to others, it is quite normal for people in my culture to do that.

    I think a ‘foodie’ is someone who eats and appreciates food, tries out different types of cuisines, and one who is passionate about the traditions around a type of food, how it is made, where the ingredients come from (e.g. organic? local?) how it is eaten, its history and development.

  2. #2 by Kikolani on May 25, 2009 - 3:10 pm

    I think some people just eat to live, eat for comfort, eat because of an eating disorder, etc. Someone could be a healthy size and enjoy eating, cooking, and sharing healthy foods and be a foodie. Someone could just appreciate the art of other’s cooking, and be a foodie, just like you can be an art lover without painting.

    ~ Kristi

  3. #3 by Trixie on February 10, 2010 - 3:29 pm

    Yes I confess, I’m a foodie. And I understand what you mean: does foodie come with perceptions of gourmet cuisine or being overweight? See my post: http://youatethat.wordpress.com/2010/02/07/what-is-a-foodie/

Leave a Reply

