The Opened Eyes

[This poem has been accepted for publication in Poems of the World. It’s about the nature of teaching.]

The Opened Eyes

Show me the way

Be my eyes when I am blind

Teach me the mystery of the initiated

 

You have sight and open eyes

The road is not at your feet but in your soul

There is no mystery for the ones who know

 

I have not come to play games

Your duty is to guide

If you cannot show me, you must not know.

 

Ponder why you have come

If I carry you on my back,

Your legs will never know the joy of running.

 

I feel as though I know nothing

I see you have nothing to offer

But I am here waiting

 

Now the learning begins . . .

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

