The Pillar of Belief

En route to lectures of knowledge
We walk on angel feathers
These principles of faith do not fade
Instead they last forever

Seeking wisdom to guide our lives
Studying Iman, the pillar of belief
The most important part of Islam
In which hearts find relief

Learning about how creation began
And delving into the Last Day
From the moment a soul tastes death
Until the angels lead us away

[This poem was inspired by a class I recently took through Al-Maghrib Institute, entitled, “Rays of Faith.” The class dealt with the concepts Muslims believe in like angels, scripture and Judgment Day.]

  1. #1 by Kikolani | Blogging, Poetry, Photography on February 24, 2009 - 1:32 pm

    “From the moment a soul tastes death”

    That is a great line. Whenever I have an episode of sleep paralysis, the part in the beginning when I’m falling asleep feels like slipping into death, because I feel like I’m falling into this dark nothing, and although I’m fighting it, I can’t escape. Interesting sensation that your poem reminded me of.

    ~ Kristi

Leave a Reply

