Song Analysis – “I’m Yours” – Jason Mraz

Well you done done me and you bet I felt it
I tried to be chill but you’re so hot that I melted
I fell right through the cracks
and now I’m trying to get back
Before the cool done run out
I’ll be giving it my bestest
Nothing’s going to stop me but divine intervention
I reckon its again my turn to win some or learn some

[The title, “I’m Yours” means “I am your soul mate.” He’s talking about being in love with a girl who intimidates him. He tries to be cool around her but he gets flustered. I love the line where he says, “I’ll be giving it my bestest.” The pseudo-word “bestest” is often uttered by children who are still learning the rules of English grammar and don’t realize that “best” is the superlative of good so it needs no additional “est.” Even though this girl makes him feel nervous, he keeps on trying and asserts that only God (divine intervention) can stop him.]
I won’t hesitate no more, no more
It cannot wait, I’m yours

Well open up your mind and see like me
Open up your plans and damn you’re free
Look into your heart and you’ll find love love love
Listen to the music of the moment maybe sing with me
Ah, la peaceful melodies
It’s your God-forsaken right to be loved love loved love love

[He resolves to stop hesitating and to plunge into this relationship. He wants her to have an open mind and realize that she loves him too. He tells her to “listen to the music of the moment.” I think he means he wants her to focus on the present, forget the past and ignore the future. He says, “it’s your God-forsaken right to be loved.”  Some people feel like we live in a world abandoned by God and all we have left is love.]
So I won’t hesitate no more, no more
It cannot wait I’m sure
There’s no need to complicate
Our time is short
This is our fate, I’m yours

[He reminds her that life is short. He believes he is destined to be with this girl. Every moment they spend apart is like a moment spent denying their destiny.]
I’ve been spending way too long checking my tongue in the mirror
And bending over backwards just to try to see it clearer
But my breath fogged up the glass
And so I drew a new face and laughed
I guess what I’m saying is there ain’t no better reason
To rid yourself of vanity and just go with the seasons
It’s what we aim to do
Our name is our virtue

[This part is a little opaque and resists analysis. I’m not sure why he’s checking his tongue in the mirror. I only do that after I eat a popsicle or something similarly laden with food coloring. But checking one’s self in the mirror often connotes vanity. Yet at the same time, he possesses a childlike innocence shown by his drawing a face using the moisture from his breath. Mraz seems to realize that he’s not making much sense so he helps me out by summarizing, “I guess what I’m saying is there ain’t no better reason/ To rid yourself of vanity and just go with the seasons.” He’s saying that there’s no point in going through your life being full of yourself and stubborn. Instead, you should be flexible and open to change. I like the line, “our name is our virtue.” I’m not sure what it means but it could mean that when our parents name us with a name like Jason, meaning “healer” or Asad, meaning “lion” with the connotation of courage, they are hoping to inspire us to have some kind of virtue. The name is like a wish for a certain type of character that will help us be decent people.

The song is about trying your hardest to get what you want in life. It’s about choosing to be flexible rather than stubborn. And it’s about realizing that what you have within you is enough to overcome any obstacle that comes your way.]
I won’t hesitate no more, no more
It cannot wait I’m sure
There’s no need to complicate
Our time is short
This is our fate, I’m yours

Well no no, well open up your mind and see like me
Open up your plans and damn you’re free
Look into your heart and you’ll find love love love love
Listen to the music of the moment come and dance with me
ah, la one big family ([2nd time:] ah, la happy family)
It’s your God-forsaken right to be loved love love love

I won’t hesitate no more
Oh no more no more no more
It’s your God-forsaken right to be loved, I’m sure
Theres no need to complicate
Our time is short
This is our fate, I’m yours

No I won’t hesitate no more, no more
This cannot wait I’m sure
There’s no need to complicate
Our time is short
This is our fate, I’m yours, I’m yours

, ,

  1. #1 by Cova on September 13, 2008 - 11:50 pm

    Brilliant analysis

  2. #2 by piranha2u on September 16, 2008 - 4:09 pm

    Nice works..! I love this song n dedicated this song to my hubby who always busy with his work..heheheheee..
    Well no no, well open up your mind and see like me
    “Open up your plans and damn you’re free
    Look into your heart and you’ll find love love love love
    Listen to the music of the moment come and dance with me
    ah, la one big family ([2nd time:] ah, la happy family)
    It’s your God-forsaken right to be loved love love love

    I won’t hesitate no more
    Oh no more no more no more
    It’s your God-forsaken right to be loved, I’m sure
    Theres no need to complicate
    Our time is short
    This is our fate, I’m yours”

    Can I assumed you a muslim..?
    Thanks for your comment..
    Salam Ramadan..
    From me..Nana

  3. #3 by lizzy on October 4, 2008 - 9:16 pm

    I loved the analysis and i was just wondering if it would be possible you do one on “love for a child”. I know it’s a lot to ask, but I really want to know what he means by it.

    Thanks

  4. #4 by Tracey on October 27, 2008 - 6:35 pm

    Dear Asad,

    There is only one word to describe your annalyzation: “WOW!”
    I hope everyone would take some time listen to this songs, and when he/she doesn’t get the idea or thinks this song is crazy, he/she will come to your page and read the explanation.

    ” Please don’t please don’t, there is no need to complicate”

    Once again Nice work!

    Have a great day!

    Tracey

  5. #5 by Diogo Leonel Torres Oliveira on December 30, 2008 - 7:52 pm

    Hi!

    First of all, I share this very same opinion and I came across this review because I was looking for someone on the Internet who would prove I wasn’t a lunatic, trying to find love for a person in this awesome song, when it could also mean (I’d say) love for the world.

    Anyway, probably I really am a lunatic but when I read the line “I’ve been spending way too long checking my tongue in the mirror” the first image that came to my mind was those “teenagers” (not only but mainly) afraid of their performance or his/her reaction and who keep practising kisses on the mirror… Some say we’ve all done that, I sure have 🙂 Again the childlike innocence you mention.

    I’m just one among a lot others who may claim this, but this song means a lot to me right now and keeps inspiring me to plunge and face the woman I (may) love… I advise others to do the same!

    Amazing song!

  6. #6 by Bryan Miguel on February 3, 2009 - 11:00 am

    I liked your analysis, all except in this spot

    I’ve been spending way too long checking my tongue in the mirror
    And bending over backwards just to try to see it clearer
    But my breath fogged up the glass
    And so I drew a new face and laughed
    I guess what I’m saying is there ain’t no better reason
    To rid yourself of vanity and just go with the seasons
    It’s what we aim to do
    Our name is our virtue

    When I was reading your analysis, i was thinking that you were thinking too literally. Checking the tongue in the mirror is correct with vanity but the most important line is “bending over backwards just to try to see it clearer.” Where he is restating the fact that he is trying way too hard to a point where he’s no longer being himself.

    “Breath fogged up the glass” is stating his many attempts at “bending over backwards” aren’t working and he doesn’t like how he’s appearing to the girl. Which is why he becomes more care-free and just “draws a ‘new’ face and laugh”

    Instead of new face it’s more of his true face. Because he’s drawing and laughing and doing something so childish, it goes back to the beginning where he uses the word “bestest” to emply childishness, innocence, and a care-free attitude

    I do like everything else on your analysis, I just thought i’d give you my two cents.

    -Bryan Miguel

  7. #7 by Thomas on March 7, 2009 - 1:33 pm

    This song is about giving yourself to God, not a woman. The tongue part is about how we talk about God to people, and analyze the Bible. The nibble your ear part is about witnessing to people. Our name is our virtue- Christians!!

  8. #8 by lelo_eet on May 13, 2009 - 10:29 pm

    Actually, it’s not about a girl, it’s about HAWAII…
    He fell in love with the isles and wants to go back there as soon as he can, all the time, without hesitations.

    If you see the video it’s much clearer…

    He advices people to go there when they can, when they make a little time for it in their schedule, that’s why he says “open up your plans and damn your free”… free to go there… 😉

    The beginning is in fact “Well, you dawned on me and you bet I felt it”, not “done done”…

  9. #9 by Jessica on May 16, 2009 - 3:57 am

    Hello,
    I really appreciated your GREAT! analysis, It has really helped me with writing a poem response in my year 12 studies of the song of my choice ‘I’m Yours’
    It is extremely good! Thankyou for your help 🙂

  10. #10 by Mia on June 7, 2009 - 2:49 pm

    Hi!

    really like your analysis, but just thought I would bumb in on the part where Jason sings:
    “I’ve been spending way too long checking my tongue in the mirror
    And bending over backwards just to try to see it clearer
    But my breath fogged up the glass
    And so I drew a new face and laughed”
    and tell you guys how I see it.

    You know when you think your are sick and getting a cold, your standing in the mirror watching your thoung and throath, to se if it’s swalown. He may be thinking that he is sick, because he is falling in love.

    I think there are a lot of ways to understand that part of the song 🙂

    have a nice day!

  11. #11 by Barry on April 19, 2011 - 9:24 pm

    I think he is checking for stds by looking in his mouth and literally checking other parts of his body for signs of infection but he gives into love or lust to accept “she done him”. I thought the song was about falling in love with a promiscuous woman but then I read it was about Hawaii. Well I did get ring worm in Hawaii from someone I met on craigslist. I am not joking.

  12. #12 by Gemma on October 6, 2011 - 9:44 pm

    well i thought the whole bending over backwards and name being virtue was about how we stretch and push ourselves to fit another mould to be loved, and how we’re forever critiquing and bending over backwards to see it all and be it all, not ourselves, and when he draws a face in the mirror he just abandons that and reverts back to who he is-carefree. the name is our virtue-well, with ushc a good analysis, i thought you’d guess- our name, who we are and what others think of us, is our virtue- it’s what we should be proud of, it’s what we should be loved for. we shouldn’t have to bend over backwards to see clearly through our own eyes.

  13. #13 by Gemma on October 6, 2011 - 9:53 pm

    of course, if we assume that the mirror was his perception of life, maybe he’s trying to say that he was getting overanalytical, searching for deeper meanings in his love, trying to understand, and when he stuffed up, and it grew foggy and he realised he was reading too deeply into it, he just stepped back, and drew in a face and laughed- he saw that it was just a mirror.

Leave a Reply

