Wikipedia Fun

I like to browse Wikipedia. Maybe that makes me a nerd. I don’t care.

I found something interesting today. The Prime Minister of Japan, Yasuo Fukuda, resigned today, after less than a year in office.

It is odd to step down from such a position so early, but it gets better.

First off, it says that prior to being Prime Minister Fukuda was the longest serving Chief Cabinet Secretary in Japanese history. Now when it says, “longest-serving,” a reasonable person would think that maybe he served for ten or twelve years. That sounds like a long term. But in fact, he served for three and a half years. I don’t know much about Japanese politics but that seems pretty short to me. They must have a lot of turnover.

But here’s the best part, this is directly from Wikipedia and I have not altered a word:

“When Fukuda was Chief Cabinet Secretary to former Prime Minister Junichiro Koizumi he was reported to have made highly controversial comments during an off-the-record discussion with reporters in June 2003 regarding the victims of rape by male members of the Waseda UniversitySuper Free” club[15], according to an article in the weekly magazine Shukan Bunshun.[16] The magazine quoted Fukuda as saying: “There are women who look like they are saying ‘Do it to me’. Those who have that kind of appearance are at fault, because men are black panthers.” In response, Fukuda claimed that the Shukan Bunshun had distorted his comments, stating that he had never intended to defend rape, and told a parliamentary panel afterwards that rape was “a criminal act and an atrocious crime”.”

He actually said that women were sending the message, “Do it to me” to the men who raped them.  Please understand,  I think rape is a heinous crime, and I do not mean to make light of it at all. But what I do find funny is when politicians suffer from foot-in-mouth disease.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

