Song Analysis “Shattered (Turn the Car Around)” O.A.R.

“Shattered (Turn the Car Around) ” O.A.R. All Sides Now (album)

In a way, I need a change

From this burnout scene

Another time, another town

Another everything

But it’s always back to you

[The speaker expresses a need for change. In a certain stage of life, the twenties, one feels a need to make major changes in one’s life. Sometimes it means going to a new school. It might mean moving to a new town. Yet one still clings to the people from the past.]

Stumble out, in the night

From the pouring rain

Made the block, sat and thought

There’s more I need

It’s always back to you

[I understand what it means to stumble out in the rain. Perhaps the stumbling is a result of drinking. But I don’t know what he means by “Made the block.” I guess he means he made it to the end of the block. Urban Dictionary (www.urbandictionary.com – warning adult content!) tells me to make the block means to drive around the block. Weird. We don’t say that here in Chicago. He repeats the line, “It’s always back to you.” He seems to be sticking with this person out of force of habit and not out of genuine love.]

But I’m good without ya

Yeah, I’m good without you

Yeah, yeah, yeah

[He realizes he doesn’t need the person who used to be in his life. He can function perfectly fine without her.]

How many times can I break till I shatter?

Over the line can’t define what I’m after

I always turn the car around

Give me a break let me make my own pattern

All that it takes is some time but I’m shattered

I always turn the car around

[The first line makes me think of a ceramic vase. You can break it a couple times in different places. But if you hit it with enough force, it will shatter into a million pieces. I think he’s referring to his heart. The girl he’s with keeps breaking his heart but he keeps coming back to her. He says he always turns the car around which means that he keeps trying to leave her, because she hurts him so much, but he can never bring himself to do it.]

I had no idea that the night

Would take so damn long

Took it out, on the street

While the rain still falls

Push me back to you

But I’m good without ya

Yeah, I’m good without you

Yeah, yeah, yeah

[He talks about the night taking a really long time. This reminds me of an episode of Seinfeld in which Jerry struggles to break up with his weekly girlfriend over a marathon ten-hour session. But then we heaves her apartment, he remembers that there’s a killer on the loose (The Lopper) and tries to patch things up. Something similar seems to be happening here. He breaks up with his girlfriend, but then as he’s leaving, it’s raining outside and he feels like going back to her.]

How many times can I break till I shatter?

Over the line can’t define what I’m after

I always turn the car around

Give me a break let me make my own pattern

All that it takes is some time but I’m shattered

I always turn the car around

Give it up, give it up, baby

Give it up, give it up, now

Now

[He repeats the line about turning the car around. He still can’t commit to leaving her. He says, “let me make my own pattern.” I think he’s talking about breaking the cycle of bad relationships. He also says that “all that it takes is some time but I’m shattered.” Anyone who’s been hurt emotionally can relate to this. You know that the pain will go away but when it feels so intense, it’s hard to believe you will ever feel better.]

How many times can I break till I shatter?

Over the line can’t define what I’m after

I always turn the car around

All that I feel is the realness I’m faking

Taking my time but it’s time that I’m wasting

Always turn the car around

How many times can I break till I shatter?

Over the line can’t define what I’m after

I always turn the car around

Don’t wanna turn the car around

[He talks about how he can’t define what he’s looking for in a relationships. He knows he’s unhappy but he’s not at the next step which would be to know what would make him happy. He mentions the realness that he’s faking. He is just going through the motions of a relationship. He is pretending to have feeling that he’s not truly experiencing. At the end, one can’t be sure whether he has decided to stay or to leave but there is hope.]

[I alluded to an episode of Seinfeld. In case you were wondering, the episode is “The Frogger.” The script for that episode is available here: http://www.seinfeldscripts.com/TheFrogger.htm. Also you can view it on YouTube here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UL-uncCJr-k&feature=related. ]

, ,

  1. #1 by Exquisite on August 21, 2008 - 6:29 am

    Relationships are always complex and the way to simplify them requires patience from both sides. It is not a solo journey of self rectification and satisfaction, it is a mutual quest to find peace.

    Thanks for sharing this

    Exquisite

  2. #2 by noui on August 30, 2009 - 11:31 am

    thanks for a deeper meaning.

  3. #3 by vetted definition on August 23, 2011 - 8:56 pm

    I’m curious, because I want to study creative writing in college. Thanks!.

  4. #4 by DJ remixes on September 15, 2011 - 12:28 am

    Really liked your piece, I hope you publish more.

Leave a Reply

