Pakola

I went to Juz Desi, the local Indo-Pak grocery store. I was there to get some ground chicken, pita bread, and a couple other items. While I was there, I saw some intriguing, unique products. They had a cheapo knockoff of Oreos called “Rite.” Those turned out to be decent in taste, though a little different from Oreos and only a quarter of the size. They also have Pakola which you can see in the jpeg picture. It had a pull-tab instead of a regular pop-top that you find on a can of Coke. I thought, “Hey, I’m Pakistani, I should try Pakola.” Big mistake.

This is one awful beverage. It’s almost indescribable in its badness. It is light lime-green in color. If you’ve ever had Rooh Afza, imagine that in a carbonated green form. Though you probably can’t make it out, it says on the label that it’s an ice cream soda. Don’t believe it. It tastes nothing like cream soda. It’s like drinking flowers. That might not sound so bad, but trust me, it is. Don’t ever buy it. Don’t ever drink it. Don’t ever touch it.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Exquisite on August 16, 2008 - 7:26 am

    You just made one of my favourite drinks sound utterly disgusting :P… ohh well, i guess everyone’s taste preferences differ

    Good day 😀

  2. #2 by Asad on August 17, 2008 - 2:49 am

    I had an informal Pakola taste test at my house. Two of my cousins, Bilal and Nabihah, tasted it. Then my dad had a sip. Nabihah said it tasted like gelatin. Bilal said it was not bad. And my dad said it was pretty good. Nabihah also told me that at her meat market the butchers drink it all the time.

  3. #3 by Exquisite on August 17, 2008 - 12:04 pm

    Well it just proves my point. I’m always for Paki beverages and it doesn’t really taste that bad. I believe all those ‘western’ drinks like pepsi and whatever have deeply corrupted your taste buds 😉

    May I add, PakCola now also has a few new flavors, like limchie and Fresh Lime… Yummy and refreshing 😀

    Have a good day!

    ps: you are now on my Blog Roll 😀

  4. #4 by SaqibSaab on August 28, 2008 - 2:56 pm

    PAKOLA IS NASTY! I’m glad someone agrees…

Leave a Reply

