How Boys Become Men

father-and-son.jpg

My dad didn’t teach me five and five make ten

My dad taught me how boys become men

He woke me up in the morning at five

Teaching me habits that would make me thrive

 

I don’t know anyone who worked harder than him

Never stopping to indulge a whim

Made his own bread, changed his own oil

Was good to his kids but never did spoil

 

Certainly a man who liked to be silent

Controlled his temper and never violent

I am thankful to him more than I can say

He made me the man I am today

, ,

  1. #1 by rhbee on March 28, 2008 - 6:39 am

    Picture this

    A kid, a basketball, a squeaky footfall.
    The thump against the metal hoop hung on the wall.
    The sweat in the burning eyes, the deep panting breaths,
    The hot asphalt melting shoe soles ’til their death.

    The feel of the leather cupped in his palm,
    The push of muscle as the shot forms its arc
    The lights of his dad’s car holding back the dark.

    rhbee

  2. #2 by Aliya on April 16, 2008 - 10:38 pm

    aw, these are nice masha’Allah.

Leave a Reply

